ATHENA Executive Board​

ATHENA Executive Board

The Executive Board of the ATHENA Alliance constitutes the principal governing body with decision-making capabilities within the Alliance. Its primary responsibilities include formulating and overseeing the Alliance’s strategic direction, vision, and governance regulations of ATHENA. Executive Board is comprised of rectors from the partnering universities.

Additionally, the ATHENA Office facilitates the functioning of the Executive Board, staffed by representatives of the rectors. The ATHENA General Secretary is pivotal in this structure and acts as the liaison between the Executive Board and all other governance entities within ATHENA, including various boards, committees, and support services.

ATHENA Executive Board

  • Paulo Pereira, Polytechnic Institute of Porto (President)
  • Nikolaos Katsarakis, Hellenic Mediterranean University
  • Stefanie Reese, University of Siegen
  • Zdravko Kacic, University of Maribor
  • Eric Blond, University of Orléans
  • Romualdas Kliukas, Vilnius Gediminas Technical University
  • Manuel Reigosa Roger, University of Vigo
  • Radoslaw Dobrowolski, Maria Curie-Skłodowska University in Lublin
  • Fabio Pollice, University of Salento
  • Nuno Escudeiro, General Secretary

Former ATHENA Executive Board members

  • Konstantinos Petridis, General Secretary, Hellenic Mediterranean University (1st October 2021 – 22nd of September 2023)
  • Fabio Fortuna, University Niccolò Cusano (until 30.9.2023) 


  • Nuno Escudeiro, Polytechnic Institute of Porto (Chair)
  • Konstantinos Petridis, Hellenic Mediterranean University 
  • Petra Vogel, University of Siegen
  • Tatjana Welzer, University of Maribor 
  • Anne Delouis, University of Orléans
  • Stefano Guarino, University Niccolò Cusano (ex-member since 30.09.2023)
  • Asta Radzeviciene, Vilnius Gediminas Technical University
  • Maribel del Pozo Trivino, University of Vigo 
  • Karolina Sokolinska, Maria Curie-Skłodowska University in Lublin
  • Genaro Scarselli, University of Salento